Welcome to the forum

HELP YOUR CLUB - GET CRB CHECKED: Tues 21st Feb

edited October 2011 in General
the club needs more CRB checked adults so we have more adult riders approved to accompany youth riders on club rides.

i believe this is a pretty painless procedure (no needles or anything like that!) and once its done its valid for 3 years, and theres no obligation to then do anything, it just means we can be sure we have CRB checked adults available when a youth rider turns up for a club ride.

3 of the committee have voluntered and if we can get a group together we will organise the CRB check.

Can you help? thanks

Comments

• Not sure if this helps at all..

As my wife is a childminded I have an advanced CRB - am happy to be added to any list you are putting together

Mark
  • thanks for the offer. i am not an expert but have been told you have to be crb checked seperately for different activities, but maybe if you are advance checked that doent count?

anyway will check with the experts when we actually get round to the crb checking bit.
    thanks again
  • Happy to do this
  • I have one from when we set up the youth cycling, football and one from 2011.
  • edited October 2011
    I'm 'enhanced crb' checked and have done level 1 child protection training and also st john's basic first aid but don't really actually remember much of that now...
  • Quite happy to do this as well but don't really agree with it. All it appears to prove is that I'm either innocent or I am or have been a paedophile but haven't been caught.

Nothing like innocent until proven guilty.

Darren
  • We all understand where you are coming from Darren...thanks for stepping up. You are correct as these checks only identify someone who has a record. They cannot identify the potential abuser. This is however where we are and we have to play by the rules laid down. we have a good group of people in our club and all would be o.k. in my book.