Welcome to the forum

Youth Road (Circuit) Racing

edited April 2009 in Youth
The Maynard family have been youth road racing since March 2008 and have found the experience, to say the least, addictive!

I have had chats with a number of parents who have expressed an interest in taking their offspring to these meetings and to this end I have set down below the next couple of months that are in our 'provisional' calendar.

I am not an expert on Youth racing and we've experienced a steep learning curve along the way. However I'm glad to impart what little knowledge I have into this world and I think I'll be able to answer some questions. Examples of which I've shown below, (none of them I would have known the basis for, never mind the answer to, before last year!) : -

1. What is a gear limit, what is the limit for my child, how do I achieve this?
2. How do I find out which events are on, where they are, what time does my child race?
3. What do I do when I get to the meet, where do I go, what's involved in signing on, do I need a British Cycling licence, where do I stick the number, where do I stand immediately prior to the start?
4. What happens if I'm last/lapped/shouted at by another rider. How do I know when the race has finished?
5. What happens after the race, what are natioanl ranking points?
6. How does the BC website work, what can it tell me, how can I look up the race results?

Here are our target dates for the next few weeks: -

2/5/09 - 13.00hrs - Hogg Hill
4/5/09 - 12.00hrs - Ixworth Criteriums (we had a really good family day out last year!)
9/5/09 - 13.00hrs - Hogg Hill (Joshua at Hillingdon, Twins at Hogg Hill)
17/5/09 - 10.00hrs - Hogg Hill (this clashes with the CC Ashwell Primavera)
23/5/09 - 10.00hrs - Hogg Hill

If you want to join us, discuss the questions I've posed or generally talk about youth racing (repeat I'm not an expert!), please contact via e-mail : richard@ccashwell.com