Welcome to the forum

Club 10 TT League - Advice & Opinion wanted

edited May 2013 in Time Trial
I've been speaking to Tim about jazzing up our club 10's and introducing some competition within it over the season, rather than just seeing who has posted the fastest time on the night. A number of other clubs run a points league so i have asked about setting something up with us, which Tim is happy for me to look after. But i have zero experience of how they work and need some advice and opinion on how it should run.

I have a basic idea of how it could work, points given from 30 to 1 for the fastest rider to slowest riders which is simple enough, but to make it fairer to all we should add a handicap league, but this is where my limits of understanding are stretched. I would appreciate if i could have to chat to some of you who have an understanding of how it could work.

I'll be making my first visit to the club night this Tuesday, between 8-8.30, who else will be there i can chat to?

Also i have taken on the role of TT press secretary, i'll be putting our weekly results into the local Comet which i'm pretty sure will be the L'worth & Baldock edition. Some extra incentive to post a good time! Let's see how this works out, in theory it could be expanded to include other CCA results across road racing etc, but depends on how much paper space we can get.

Comments

• Chris,

Well done, great initiative.

A previous club I belonged to had a target time system. The target was based on your previous season's best time. If you were a new rider then your first two times were averaged. Whoever beat their target time by the most won the handicap prize. I seem to remember it was based on your best 4 or 5 rides so the amount you beat your target by was aggregated.

Mark.
  • Chris, great initiative. Thank you.