Welcome to the forum

Bicycle cleaning and lubrication

edited November 2014 in Kit
I have been asked a few times, the last time by I think Pete on Sunday, about what products I use to keep racing bikes clean and running smoothly. I met a club cyclist recently who spends nearly £10 a year on lubrication and chain cleaning products specifically marketed to the cycle enthusiast, which I find extraordinary.

The answer is that I am not an expert but I ignore completely all products that are specifically for the bicycle market. I am not saying that they don´t work because they do and I have tried most of them at some stage, just that I don´t need them and use low cost proven engineering products instead. In answer to Pete`s question I use:

Carlac polish on the bicycle paintwork which is very quick to do.
Clean the bike with a little water and rag which is usually all that´s needed if it has been polished beforehand.
Small amount of white spirit in jam jar to clean the chain occasionally - as per cleaning a paint brush and is very quick.
10W40 Motor oil (budget oil from Morrisons is fine and a can will see you out!) immerse the clean dry chain in oil, wipe way the excess and ride away with a nice quiet drivetrain without fiddling about.
Copper loaded grease on shoeplate screws so that they don´t get stuck.
Humbrol enamel paint on the cassette spacers, coloured chains and as a witness on screwthreads.
Grease in the freewheel (older types particularly) makes them quieter and they stay quiet.
Additional layer of bar tape with additional padding in certain places which significantly increases grip options.
Do not lubricate the Ergo levers - maintain them properly instead which means not squirting oil into them!
Cover the drain hole at the bottom of the frame with tape at the beginning of a ride and this prevents water getting up into the unreliable modern bottom bracket and then remove it straight after the ride.