Welcome to the forum

WINTER TRAINING FOR ALL

edited December 2009 in General
SHORT REPORT.............The sessions being run by Andrew Skeen are guaranteed to work muscles needed in cycling and all round fitness. I can honestly say that 40-45 minutes workout works certain cycling muscles harder than a 70 mile ride with the fast group.

These sessions will be paced according to the fitness level and capability of each participant so don't worry. they are designed to strengthen, develop and stretch muscle groups in a way that just riding the bike won't.

I am a relative novice at this type of exercise and can genuinely feel the benefit of exercising under the watchful eye of someone who clearly knows what works best and how to do each set the right way.i can't stress enough just how hard some seemingly simple exercises are to do properly. Old habits have to be corrected before you can fully benefit from them. even someone as set in their ways as me can do them and feel the improvement.

We are planning to do these once a week at present.Tuesday Evenings. 7-8.30pm.....I expect we will have to hire somewhere in Ashwell so there will be a minimal charge per session to cover the costs. Youth and Adult members are welcome.

can you please blog here or mail me geoff@ccashwell.com.................to register interest........without knowing numbers it is hard to gauge the necessary space.

we will also be teaching proper roller riding....bike maitainance....and making space for you to bring your turbo trainers. the aim is to create a fully integrated club training ethos so that even if the weather is against us we can keep fit, improve those areas we need to work on and generally stave off the worst of winter overeating and sloth.

so, drop me a line or chip in here with thoughts and comments. cheers guys and a happy Christmas if I don't see you all before.

Comments

• a very encouraging response so far..adults and youth...more replies please.......